So Many Things to Celebrate!

Today marks the first day of a glorious new year! Happy to be alive and well, surrounded (whether physically or emotionally) by the people I love and who I love most. Thank you for all the blessings in 2011! From graduating from Teacher’s College after a ‘mid-life realization’ (lol) and becoming a certified teacher in Ontario, to venturing out to Korea for a job (meeting the most adorable children and exploring one of the many beautiful places on earth), then coming home to a Board opportunity (that will hopefully turn permanent in the near future), and ending the year with many lovely memories of places traveled, food eaten, people I’ve met and reconnected with, and the countless dishes shared from ev’s kitchen. I am happy to say that 2011 was an amazing adventure and year of growth. I am excited for the year ahead, as it will be a busy one, with courses and work. But, it will be full of life, love, laughter and tears especially since I will play a special role in three of my dear friends weddings in 2012!!!! It is a blessing to be a part of their special time and witness personally the warmth in their hearts.

Today also marks my parents 30th wedding anniversary!! It’s amazing to see them grow old together!! I wish them many years of love, happiness and good health! :) They are currently enjoying a feast of a meal in HK with all my relatives! Wish I could be there.

Finally, it’s also my birthday!! :) :) And this post is dedicated to how I’ve decided to spend it. With good friends, doing something that makes me (and hopefully them) and others feel good. Inspired by The Birthday Project, originally from this blog post, I wanted to do something similar and spread some kindness cheer with the people around me, especially to start off the new year! With the help of my B.F.F. (best foodie friend June), my trusty sous chef (Helene), and sous chef for life (B) haha, we baked 100+ cupcakes that we will decorate, package and give out at the local skating rink this afternoon. They are ‘just because’ cupcakes that are meant to spread some holiday cheer and kindness to strangers we meet today. I know that some may think it’s odd and may be skeptical about receiving them, but I assure you, there is/was no ulterior motive! I just want to do something nice for others that may not be expecting it, and which could possibly brighten their day just a little bit more!

Here’s a photo of the prep work that we did to get the mission rolling…

We are now decorating and assembling the cupcakes at the moment and will be off to hand them out at the Markham Civic Centre Outdoor skating rink (OR the theatre in First Markham Place… if it continues to rain :()! I will update with more photos to share how the day went… keep you posted! :)

EDIT*** We have just moved the cupcake ‘handout’ to Vaughan Mills Mall (so indoors) by the food court!!! We will be there at 4:30pm today :) See you!

Post Cupcake Sharing Mission Update:

So after a few changes, we still continued our mission to complete my random act of kindness for the day! We headed to a busy mall in the GTA and did our sharing there in front of one of their entrances. Though we were worried we’d get caught for ‘handing stuff out’ on mall property, we had secretly hoped that we would be OK and everything would be handed out before anyone ‘really’ noticed. :P I’m happy to say… we SUCCEEDED in our mission and we left happy and grateful (at least I did haha) and didn’t get in trouble with the law lol ^.^.

Here are photos of my ‘dream team’ working hard to ensure my plan was executed accordingly, and to reassure me that things would be OK even though the weather was not cooperating with us!

Here are photos of all the mini cupcakes frosted and assembled, ready for distribution!

It was interesting interacting with the various individuals who we came across. The first person we approached seemed very shocked and didn’t even let us finish our sentence before saying, ‘no, no, no, I am not interested’. I guess you can’t blame her, as it’s not everyday that people are handing out something ‘free’ without a reason.

But that didn’t stop us! We continued with a friendly smile, approaching the moms and the dads, husbands and wives, teenagers, babies and children.

Interesting comments included… ‘Which company are you from?’, ‘Who are you?’, ‘Why are you doing this?’, ‘Can I take some for my family?’..But once they knew our purpose of just ‘spreading kindness’, people were smiling and returned the greeting. Some even took a few for friends and family. After that initial ‘hiccup’, we were greeted with many shocked turned smiling faces in the quick 10-15min it took to hand out the 100 cupcakes! I hope those who received one are happy and satisfied with their little treats and are on their way to a wonderful year ahead!!!

I’m so glad that the mission unfolded the way it did. It’s hard to explain the feeling of the whole process and final moments of the plan. Though we stayed up till 3am the night before baking and packaging everything, it was worth it in my mind! It’s a privilege to be able to do something for someone else. Hopefully from here on end there will be many more opportunities to help and inspire. I could not have done this without the help of my amazing friends. I am so lucky to have them to support me in this project and through life ^.^. Love them so very much!!!! I wonder what I can do next year? :P Until then, hope we can all continue to do great things for everyone around us, strangers or not :P

About evie

Teacher/Cook/Entrepreneur/Explorer... View all posts by evie

4 responses to “So Many Things to Celebrate!

  • alikoh

    you are like, mother teresa.

    hbd again and looked like you guys had so much fun!!

  • My Positive Change (@mposchange)

    The reactions you got are similar to those that I get every time I do free hugs.

    Great on you and your team for doing this. It’s small gestures like this that can bring tremendous joy and much learning about self and human behaviour for those involved.

    Happy birthday and new year! and yay for 30th wedding anniversary! So happy to know some couples are still going strong :)

    • evie

      Thanks Anf! Yes I can totally picture how people who have reacted. But bet they loved it nonetheless I’m sure. I’m inspired by you and all that you do! Keep it up my friend!! Always looking forward to your great stories :) Let’s keep changing lives :P

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

